Please sign-in to...
  • Save Orders
  • View Saved Orders
  • View Order History
  • Save Wish Lists
  • Move Wish List to Cart
  • and more!

Do not show this message again.


Legends in Their Own Lunchbox


You have not viewed any products recently.

Legends in Their Own Lunchbox

Legends (in their own lunchbox) is a series of 24 humorous, fictional early chapter books for Early Fluent readers. Reading levels have all been assigned through the Fountas and Pinnell leveling service. These narratives have been written with six main characters, as to help students build prior knowledge as they read through the books and build their reading endurance. However, each story can stand alone, and the books can be read in any order. The books are suitable for use as supplementary literacy resources as well as for recreational reading or for Guided Reading lessons.

Program and Book Features

  • Fun and engaging stories and illustrations
  • Recurring characters to help support comprehension
  • Teacher’s Resource Guide provides lesson support for each title
  • Graphic Organizer of BLM activity sheet for each title Characters page, which provides readers with a snippet of information about the character in the book
  • Each book contains a page for the author and for the illustrator
  • Teacher’s guide contains a Literacy Skills Checklist
  • Each title was leveled using the Fountas and Pinnell leveling service
About the Legends
The Legends are six larger-than-life kids, wannabes and dreamers whose big plans often fall apart or end in disaster. All of them are around nine years old and grounded in reality. No superheroes here, just stories about real kids, written for real kids — only the Legends are a little crazier and a little sillier, but still likeable and easily relatable. They truly are legends in their own lunchbox!

The six main characters of the series are Kim, Riley, Noob, Chaz, Lucy, and Stella.
Kim, Riley, Noob, Chaz
Lucy and Stella
Teacher's Guide
The materials in the guide are designed to help teachers familiarize themselves with the Legends (in Their Own Lunchbox) series, prior to including the titles in a classroom reading program. Talking points and suggested activities capitalize on the humor presented in the narratives while also focusing on appropriate literacy skills. Reproducible worksheets provide opportunities to further address and develop these literacy skills.
Teacher's Guide
Features of the Books
The books in Legends (in Their Own Lunchbox) series are divided into four, five, or six chapters with full-color illustrations throughout. A variety of text types appear throughout, including email recounts, short instructional, procedural, and information reports, signs, and maps.
Features of the Books
Literacy Skill Checklist
The activity suggestions included in the guide are designed to focus on literacy skills appropriate to the reading level of each title. Activities range in complexity and length and include individual, group, and whole-class tasks that can easily be adapted to suit students’ specific needs.
Literacy Skill Checklist