Please sign-in to...
  • Save Orders
  • View Saved Orders
  • View Order History
  • Save Wish Lists
  • Move Wish List to Cart
  • and more!
 

Do not show this message again.

 
Recently Viewed Products
 

You have not viewed any products recently.

 
 
Half My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets
Half My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets
Alternative Views
  • There are no alternate images available for this product.
 
Award Winners Reviewed Titles
Switch Press

Half My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets

Sixteen-year-old Josh fantasizes about becoming a death metal guitarist complete with tattoos, piercings, and hoards of adoring fans (girls, mostly). But it's not easy when his super strict mom wont let him grow out his hair! Luckily, Josh has a way of coping with life's setbacks; it's only a diary, but it contains all Josh's hopes, dreams, and frustrations (not to mention some great ideas for band names and lyrics!). There's a lot he wants to get done before his 17th birthday, but things never turn out quite like he plans. What Josh doesn't know is that his mother also kept a diary around the time he was born, and a secret in there holds the key to Josh's life becoming a whole lot more metal.

 
ISBN978-1-63079-000-4
PublisherSwitch Press
BrandSwitch Press
Age Level14-18 Years
Reading LevelGrades 9-12
Trim Size5 1/2 x 8 1/4
Page Count224
LanguageEnglish
Copyright2015
Paper Over Board
Price
$16.95
 


 
 

Reviews

Examiner.com - YuMin Ye, Columbia Young Adult Fiction Examiner

"You don’t typically think about guys keeping journals, but if they did, Half My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets by J. A. Buckle would be it. . . .Combined with the jokes his buddies crack, any teenaged boy can relate to the insecurities expressed in this novel. . . .It’s nice to know that guys do think inside of that skull of theirs and just like girls, realize that at the end of the day, friends and family come before money, even if most of them are ferrets." - Examiner.com

November 5, 2014

Booklist Online - Paula Willey

"There’s plenty of humor, as well as some drama, as Josh deals with his unusually strict widowed mother. . . .an affable book, and the dated journal entries add a nice touch of authenticity. . . .Fans of Don Calame’s Beat the Band series and Brent Crawford’s Carter books will recognize and enjoy Josh and his friends." - Booklist Online

October 6, 2014

 

Publishers Weekly

"Readers will feel as if they know Josh well through his daily cataloguing of his life in a journal. . . .It’s easy to sympathize with Josh’s frustrations, and his sarcastic, self-deprecating narration has its moments…" - Publishers Weekly

July 7, 2014

Todd Strasser, author of Fallout

"Not since Adrian Mole has there been such a likable, sympathetic, and consistently funny loser. Metal head and ferret lover Josh Walker is so endearingly off center that you cannot help but root for him." - Todd Strasser, author of Fallout

April 14, 2014

 

Geoff Herbach, author of the YA series Stupid Fast

"Half My Facebook Friends Are Ferrets is fast and packed with surprises and Josh “The Destroyer" is super funny." - Geoff Herbach, author of the YA series Stupid Fast

April 21, 2014

Tom Frye, author of Scratchin’ on the Eight Ball

"J. A. Buckle had me at cornflakes sprinkled with bacon bits in this gritty, humorous book. I laughed out loud, and yet I detected an underlying current of seriousness that ran through this story like a bolt of lightning." - Tom Frye, author of Scratchin’ on the Eight Ball

March 1, 2014

 

Awards

South Gloucestershire Public Libraries

Concorde Book Award 2015 Shortlist, Bristol and Bath

January 1, 2014

Lincolnshire Libraries

2015 Lincolnshire Young People's Book Award, 12-14 year category

January 1, 2014

The Reading Agency

Summer Reading Challenge 2014

January 1, 2014

J.A. Buckle

J.A. Buckle

J.A. Buckle studied zoology in college, and now works for the national drugs charity DrugScope. As well as writing, she designs websites, helps out at animal welfare charities, plays guitar, and takes her dog for walks. She has two teenage children and lives in Surrey.

Go to the Author’s Page →

 
OK