Please sign-in to...
  • Save Orders
  • View Saved Orders
  • View Order History
  • Save Wish Lists
  • Move Wish List to Cart
  • and more!
 

Do not show this message again.

 
Recently Viewed Products
 

You have not viewed any products recently.

 
 
My Footprints
My Footprints
Alternative Views
  • There are no alternate images available for this product.
 
Reviewed Titles Award Winners
Capstone Editions

My Footprints

by Bao Phi
Illustrated by Basia Tran

Every child feels different in some way, but Thuy feels "double different." She is Vietnamese American and she has two moms. Thuy walks home one winter afternoon, angry and lonely after a bully's taunts. Then a bird catches her attention and sets Thuy on an imaginary exploration. What if she could fly away like a bird? What if she could sprint like a deer, or roar like a bear? Mimicking the footprints of each creature in the snow, she makes her way home to the arms of her moms. Together, the three of them imagine beautiful and powerful creatures who always have courage - just like Thuy.

 
ISBN978-1-68446-000-7
PublisherCapstone Editions
BrandCapstone Editions
Age Level5-9 Years
Reading LevelGrades 2-3
GenreRealistic Fiction
Trim Size9 x 11
Page Count32
LanguageEnglish
Copyright2019
Hardcover
Price
$19.99
 


 
 
 
 

Reviews

Sarah Park Dahlen - Associate Professor, MLIS Program, St. Catherine University

"This beautiful story about a young Vietnamese American girl’s resilience will give courage to readers everywhere. Tran’s bright illustrations communicate Thuy’s hopeful spirit and the power of her imagination. Readers who love Ezra Keats’ The Snowy Day and Zetta Elliott's I Love Snow! will love My Footprints!" - Sarah Park Dahlen

March 27, 2019

Holly Weinkauf - Owner, Red Balloon Bookshop

"I found so much to love in this book. The story starts off with a little girl, Thuy, being bullied. But it doesn’t focus on the bullies or the bullying. Instead we see Thuy’s brilliant and rich imagination, her two moms surrounding her with understanding and love, and Thuy finding her own courage. This beautiful story reminds us that there are many ways to be strong." - Holly Weinkauf

March 17, 2019

 

Book Riot, "50 Must-Read Children's Books From the Second Half of 2019" - Margaret Kingsbury

"Thuy is of Vietnamese origin with two moms, and because of this she is bullied at school. One wintry afternoon, after seeing a cardinal and the footprints he leaves in the snow, she escapes the loneliness by using her imagination and creating her own bird-like footprints." - Book Riot, "50 Must-Read Children's Books From the Second Half of 2019"

September 30, 2019

School Library Journal - Megan Kilgallen, Packer Collegiate Institute, Brooklyn

"STARRED REVIEW! Basia Tran’s illustrations are pitch perfect and make the story all the more poignant. A timeless and important book that deals with the fallout of bullying and the power of a child’s imagination to overcome with the strength and support of a loving family." - School Library Journal

September 1, 2019

 

Pioneer Press/TwinCities.com - Mary Ann Gossmann

"[Tran's] illustrations perfectly capture Thuy’s facial expressions as she imagines each animal, and Tran’s  mythical creatures, including a dragon and a phoenix, are magnificent." - Pioneer Press/TwinCities.com

August 31, 2019

Star Tribune - Laurie Hertzel

"Like his first picture book, “A Different Pond,” Bao Phi’s new book is a simple story that contains multitudes. . . .This delightful story about games, imagination, mythology and familial love also touches on more serious themes without becoming preachy — bullying, courage, female empowerment, race and sexual orientation. Phi’s vivid writing (a cardinal “could fly away into the giant pane of sky”) and charming illustrations by Polish-Vietnamese illustrator Basia Tran, make this a book that children will want to reread." - Star Tribune

September 20, 2019

 

Kirkus Reviews

". . . .the book sends a powerful message about the strength children can draw from their own cultural heritage. With this story about two moms joining their daughter through child-centered play to face adversity as one, Phi explains in his author's note, he hopes to nurture the marginalized and challenge "systems of harm." . . .Both a meaningful effort toward inclusion and a solid conversation starter about bullying." - Kirkus Reviews

July 1, 2019

Booklist - Ilene Cooper

"As in his Caldecott Honor Book A Different Pond (2017), Phi deeply understands both differences and family bonds. Tran's soft, rounded artwork adds an unexpected flavor to a story that goes deep into the power of imagination and empathy." - Booklist

August 1, 2019

 

A Fuse 8 Production, School Library Journal - Elizabeth Bird

"I was really intrigued by how the book equated mythical creatures made of different parts to families made of different kinds of people. Also, extra points for it being a two moms book where that’s important but not the sole focus. Probably one of the smarter anti-bullying picture books I’ve seen this year. Celebrates the “unexpected combination of beautiful things.”" - A Fuse 8 Production, School Library Journal

November 13, 2019

A Fuse 8 Production, School Library Journal - Elizabeth Bird

"When I read My Footprints by Bao Phi, the final product was so original and unusual that I couldn’t help but remember it months and months later. . . .It has realistic situations, an imagination used for the ultimate good, magical creatures, tip top writing, and plummy art. . . .Want a book that’ll stick in your brain for long periods of time for all the right reasons? Chant along with me then . . . my footprints, my footprints, my footprints . . ." - A Fuse 8 Production, School Library Journal

March 14, 2019

 

Mombian

"…A lyrical tale about the power of imagination and finding strength in family and cultural heritage. It’s also notable as one of few LGBTQ-inclusive picture books to focus on Asian characters. Consider this a must-have for any LGBTQ kids’ collection." - Mombian

August 19, 2019

The Tiny Activist

"Having a book like My Footprints that addresses tough times while not making it the focus is crucial. The author does a fantastic job of making Thuy and her mothers’ imagination be the healing power that their family needs. Focusing on the love instead of the hate, we can have tough conversations with those around us to create more empathy and windows into the lives of others around us. . . .One of the best books of the year in our opinion." - The Tiny Activist

November 30, 2019

 

Washington Blade, "Back to School 2019: New Kids’ Books Spotlight LGBTQ Life" - Dana Rudolph

"Phi, a poet and author whose awards include a Caldecott Honor and an Ezra Jack Keats Honor, has crafted a lyrical tale about the power of imagination and finding strength in family and cultural heritage. It’s also notable as one of few LGBTQ-inclusive picture books to focus on Asian characters. Consider this a must-have for any LGBTQ kids’ collection." - Washington Blade, "Back to School 2019: New Kids’ Books Spotlight LGBTQ Life"

August 12, 2019

Pat Zietlow Miller - New York Times bestselling

"Thuy and her family's footprints will walk right into your heart. A loving look at imagination, confidence and courage." - Pat Zietlow Miller

March 7, 2019

 

Awards

Little Free Library

2019 Action Book Club Selection

July 1, 2019

Midwest Independent Booksellers Association

2019 Midwest Connections Pick, September

August 1, 2019

Kirkus Reviews

30 Most Anticipated Picture Books for Fall

September 1, 2019

PACER

PACER's National Bullying Prevention Center Book Club

November 1, 2019

A Fuse 8 Production

2019 Books With a Message

December 1, 2019

Evanston Public Library (IL)

101 Great Books for Kids 2019

November 1, 2019

Iowa Public Radio, "Talk of Iowa"

Best Boooks for Kids and Teens This Winter

December 1, 2019

Bao Phi

Bao Phi

Bao Phi was born in Vietnam and raised in the Phillips neighborhood of South Minneapolis.  He is an author, a poet, a community organizer, and a father.

Go to the Author’s Page →

 
OK